October 20, 2018 Meeting Minutes



Meeting called to order by President Richter at 1:00 PM 

Roll call showed all Directors present. 

Motion Brennan, seconded Lemke, carried to approve the minutes of the previous meeting. 

There were 26 dedicated baseball people in attendance. 

Motion Brennan, second Forsman, carried to approve the MSHSBCA ad for $150. 

Motion Roufs, second Kreger, carried to reinstate Eagan and Matt Fiedler for the 2019 season. 

Motion  Roufs, second Forsman, carried to place Alexandria on probation for the 2019 season. 

Motion Lemke, second Schleper, carried to allow the following players to play in the Roy Hobbs World Series in Florida in October 21-28.  Those players include Aaron Olson, Jeremy Peschel, Jim Althoff, Brook Lyter, and Mike Peschel 

Motion Kreger, second Forsman, carried to allow the following players to play in the Roy Hobbs World Series in Ft. Myers 10/24 – 11/1; Scott Marquardt, Mike Jeseritz, Bill Aho, Mike Adelman, Mike Adreas, Nate Winter, David Jonas, Curt Schake, Nick Corbin,  Jason Meyer, Chris Doney, Eric Evislage, Troy Freiler, Michael Kragenbring, and Herman Solomon Jr. 

Motion Lemke, second Schleper, carried to allow Andy Wolf, Blaise Jacobsen, Pat Boggess and Tom Hady, all from the Jackson Bulls to play in the Roy Hobbs World Series in Ft. Myers, FL from October 10/21-10/28. 

Mike Nagel and Mark Forsman reviewed the status of the establishing B/C criteria.  It was noted that there were currently three components: Population for city/township and/or school district, roster/players with college/pro playing time, and success of team in the last 5 years in the MBA state tournament.  The point total of 49 and above have been designated to play Class B for the 2019 season.  However, teams will be able to come before the Board at the November meeting to indicate roster changes that would result in lowering their point totals relative to qualifying for Class C/B.  

Motion Brennan, second Kreger carried to appoint Rob Silvers as the new Region 10 Commissioner. 

Old Business 

New Business

Brian Hronski is starting a new team, Twin Cities Lumberjacks, and has requested to play an independent schedule for 2019.  Motion Forsman, second Nagel, carried to allow them to play an MBA schedule with the following: pay dues of $100, submit their roster, contracts and schedule to the MBA prior to the 2019 season for approval. 

Gary Schleper, Dennis Brennan, and Mike Nagel audited the MBA financials and approved the Financial Report for 2018.  It was deemed to be complete and accurate. 

The Region/Section Commissioners met at 3 pm and discussed items of interest and concern.  Adam Gallatin, Class B and Paul Froncak, Class C gave their recommendations and included the following:  Class B – Review and balance Sections, Seedings/Playoffs and playing on Friday nights in State Tournament. Class C – would like to have Board make recommendations regarding forfeited games in Regions.  It was noted that annual roster meetings must be conducted.  Reminder that Region formats are required to be submitted by June 6, 2019. 

The meeting was recessed for dinner. 

Meeting was called back to order by President Richter at 5:15 pm 

Roll call showed all directors present. 

In attendance

Section Commissioners: #1Dan Swanson, #2 Kelly McMonagle #4 Adam Gallatin

Region Commissioners:  , #4 Tim Beier, #7 Gerald Roepke, #8 Paul Froncak, #10 Rob Silvers, #11 Leo Wirth, #12 Mike Rippberger, #15 Randy Schoenberg, Dan Thoennes #14 and #16. 

Leagues:  Arrowhead West, Cannon Valley, Cannon Valley Classic American, Cannon Valley Classic National, Central Ridge, Corn Belt, Crow River North and South, DRS, Eastern Minnesota North, Metro Minny, Red River League, North Star Central, River Valley Central, River Valley West, Sauk Valley, Stearns County North, Victory North, Victory West, Victory South, Victory East 

Guests: 1 

(Credentials) Nagel, Schleper

(Nominating) Forsman, Kreger 

Board members reported details on assigned committees and responsibilities. 

Secretary Hartmann reviewed the details of the 2018 Financial Report.  Motion by Denis Campbell, second Wayne Erickson, carried to accept the 2018 Financial Report. 

Nominating Committee:  Reported the following nominees for election to the board of directors:  Fred Roufs, Dennis Brennan and Tom Lemke.  Director Kreger called for nominations from the floor. After the required number of times and no further nominations, motion Mike Kieke, second Herb Koch, carried, to close nominations.  As the three incumbents were unopposed, motion Paul Froncak, second Al Windsperger, carried to file a white ballot and re-elect Roufs, Brennan and Lemke.  They will serve three-year terms on the Minnesota Baseball Board. 

The floor was then open for discussion.  Class B & C Criteria details were handed out to attendees with Mike Nagel reviewing the components.  There was a lengthy discussion regarding the pros and cons of the system to be implemented with teams wanting to know their point totals.  There was some discussion on creating an additional Class and at this point it was determined that we should table that idea until more research is done to understand the impact on leagues, regions etc.  There were approximately 8-10 teams with points totaling 49 or more and those teams will have the opportunity to come before the Board at the November meeting to petition to remain in Class C and there were approximately 5-6 B teams potentially eligible to play Class C in 2019 and they were also noted to come before the Board with information to support their desire to move down. 

Brian Larson introduced the winner of the 2018 Mike Downs Award – Gerald Roepke, Region 7 Commissioner, long time New Germany baseball enthusiast and supporter. 

Being no further business, motion Paul Froncak, second Mike Kieke, carried to adjourn at 6:50 pm  

Meeting called to order by President Richter at 7:00 pm 

Roll call showed all Directors present. 

First order of business was election of officers.  

Motion Nagel, second Forsman, carried to file a white ballot to elect John Richter as President, to elect Fred Roufs as Vice President and to elect Dave Hartmann as Secretary/Treasurer. 

Motion Kreger, seconded Nagel, carried to approve rates for the Handbook Advertisements:  1/3 page $35.00, ½ page $50.00, full page and covers $75.00 and centerfold $400 each side. 

Motion Forsman, seconded Lemke, carried to set President’s salary at $1,000, Secretary/Treasurer at $4,000, office rent $3,000 and secure handbook ads at $1,000. 

Annual meeting set for 2019 at the East Side VFW on Saturday, October 19, 2019. 

Motion Lemke, second Schleper, carried to set board expenses at $40/day per diem and mileage at .50/mile. 

There being no further business, motion Schleper, second Lemke, carried to adjourn.  Adjournment at 7:15 pm 

Submitted by Dave Hartmann, MBA Secretary/Treasurer  


Check out additional content below