Minnetonka is crowned 2015 Coors Light Classic Champions

Posted on July 12, 2015 by Trent Jackson

No. 1 Class A ranked Minnetonka continues to dominate as they received the 2015 Jordan/Shakopee Coors Light Classic title July 12. 

After falling to Shakopee in extra innings 3-2 in game one of the tournament, the Millers bounced back for three victories over Red Wing, St. Michael, and Moorhead. 

Minnetonka previously was crowned champions of the Dundas Tournament June 7, and the SPAMtown Challenge in Austin June 28. The Millers now have a record of 32-2 on the season.

In the championship game on Sunday at the Mini Met in Jordan, Minnetonka defeated the Moorhead Brewers 9-1. The Millers recorded 10 hits, including a combined five hits and six RBI from Joe Abellera and Joe Shallenberger. Mike Davis also added a three-run homerun in the third inning. 

Tournament scores:

Friday, July 10


6 p.m. – Blue Earth vs. Jordan (5-2 Blue Earth)

8 p.m. – Cold Spring vs. Moorhead (6-4 Moorhead)


6 p.m. – Minnetonka vs. Shakopee (3-2 Shakopee)

8 p.m. – Red Wing vs. St. Michael

Saturday, July 11


11 a.m. – Moorhead vs. Jordan (2-0 Moorhead)

1 p.m. – Minnetonka vs. Red Wing (3-1 Minnetonka)

3 p.m. – Cold Spring vs. Jordan (2-0 Cold Spring)

6 p.m. -St. Michael vs. Minnetonka (14-2 Minnetonka)


11 a.m. – Blue Earth vs. Cold Spring (7-0 Cold Spring)

1 p.m. – St. Michael vs. Shakopee (8-6 St. Michael)

3 p.m. – Moorhead vs. Blue Earth (1-0 Moorhead)

6 p.m. – Red Wing vs. Shakopee (4-3 Red Wing)

Sunday, July 12


1 p.m. – Championship game (Minnetonka defeats Moorhead 9-1)

Check out additional content below