CLASS B ROUNDUP SATURDAY AT DELANO: Shakopee stirs up late-inning magic; Cold Spring advances

By Nick Gerhardt

Shakopee 6, Minneapolis Cobras 4

Shakopee, the surprise of the 2023 Class B state tournament, continued to turn heads Saturday with a 6-4 win over the Minneapolis Cobras at Delano Municipal Baseball Park to reach the semifinals.

After the Cobras twice rallied to tie the game, the Indians grabbed a two-run lead in the bottom of the eighth inning. Alex Duncan reached on a fielder’s choice and Kolin Williams hit a ball to the left center field gap that wound up in the ivy for a ground rule double to prevent Duncan from scoring. After walking Cade McGraw to load the bases, Jack Schleper hit a ball to second base where the throw to second pulled shortstop Jordan Kozicky off the bag. It allowed Duncan and Williams to score the go-ahead and insurance run.

The Indians made the state tournament for the first time since 2018 and are seeking their first title since 2010. Shakopee still has some members of that squad on the roster and one of them delivered clutch hits against the Cobras.

Aaron Olson, an all-tournament selection in 2009, drove in the go-ahead run in the fifth inning with a single. Olson went 2-for-3 in the game and scored twice, including the game’s first run.

The Indians took a 1-0 lead in the second inning after Olson singled and moved to third after a walk and a sacrifice bunt. He scored on a fielder’s choice. 

Shakopee’s lead grew to 3-0 after the bottom of the fourth. Olson drew a leadoff walk. Tom Keohen got hit by a pitch and Alex Broholm drew a walk to load the bases. Kolin Williams brought Olson in with a fielder’s choice for his second RBI of the game. 

The Cobras, who won the 2019 Class A state title, tied the game in the top of the fifth inning when Brandon Schmahl connected for a three-run home run to right field. 

The Cobras came back in the seventh for a run to make it 4-4 after Greg Larpenter led off with a single and scored on a single from Nate Lutmer.

The Indians face another perennial state power Sunday at 3 p.m. in Dassel when they meet Cold Spring. The Springers defeated Miesville 5-2 earlier Saturday.

Cold Spring 5, Miesville 2

Cold Spring continued to summon some magic Saturday in a 5-2 victory over Miesville at Delano Municipal Baseball Park.

The Springers, who last won a title in 2014, advanced to the final four for the first time since 2020.

Cold Spring got three runs in the first inning on four hits. Brad Olson drove in a pair of runs while Brian Hansen had an RBI single. The Springers added two runs in the fifth inning after Brady Klehr singled with one out and BJ Huls doubled. A Hansen sacrifice fly scored Klehr and Huls scored on a wild pitch.

Miesville got on the board in the top of the sixth inning after Ben Vujovich reached on a leadoff walk. Joey Werner launched a two-run home run to the alley in left center field to make it 5-2. 

Springers starting pitcher 44-year-old Zach Femrite looked the part of MVP from 2013 and 2014 after going eight innings, allowing four hits, giving up just two runs, walking four and striking out six. 

Cold Spring will face Shakopee Sunday at 3 p.m. in Dassel.

Check out additional content below