Board Makes Class B Changes

Posted on Nov 21, 2011

The Board of Directors of the Minnesota Baseball Association moved 11 teams from class C to class B at their meeting last Saturday, November 19th.  Saying “We the Board want to be the objective piece,” Director Fred Roufs explained how the Board spent Friday evening at a workshop meeting working on the reclassification. He also said that this is not the end of reclassification, just the first phase.   

The 11 teams that were moved up are: Isanti (Eastern Minny League), St. Francis, Big Lake, Anoka, Forest Lake and Champlin (Metro Minny Blue League), Elk River, Rogers and Albertville (North Star North League), Granite City Grays and the St. Cloud Snappers (Lakewood League).  This makes a total of 42 teams in class B for 2012.   

The Board also noted that they will take control of all of the class B day to day business.  That includes alignments, selecting super section sites, seeding and tournament format.  When asked by Dan Plein of Red Wing if class B will play on Labor Day and if the Board will still take suggestions from the B advisory group that was put together last  year, the answer was “yes.” 

“We liked the end result of Super Sections,” stated Roufs.  “It was a very good pass.” 

It was pointed out that the B State Tournament would still be a two-week affair, however, in 2012 it will be the last two weekends, ending on Labor Day, with C playing all three weekends.  That means that the B Super Sections will be played during the first weekend of the C tournament.

Later in the meeting, the Board set the new B Sections for 2012.  Here is the Section alignment:

Section 1:  Miesville, Dundas, Red Wing, Hastings, Elko

Section 2:  Big Lake, Anoka, Forest Lake, Champlin, Isanti, St. Francis

Section 3:  Shakopee, Chaska, Victoria, Prior Lake

Section 4:  Savage, Rosemount, Austin Greyhounds, Rochester

Section 5:  Burnsville, Eagan, Lakeville, Mankato

Section 6: Moorhead Brewers, Bemidji, Hibbing, Grand Rapids, Duluth, Nashwauk

Section 7:  Marshall, St. Cloud Snappers, Sauk Rapids Cyclones, Granite City Grays, Brainerd Bees, Cold Spring Springers

Section 8:  East Bethel, St. Michael, Coon Rapids, Blaine, Albertville, Elk River, Rogers

Two teams from each Section will advance to the Super Sections

Check out additional content below