2015 Class A State Tournament Preview

Posted on August 5, 2015 by Trent Jackson [updated 8/16]

The 2015 Class A State Tournament will be played at Red Haddox Field in Bloomington, Minn. August 6-16. The 12-team bracket features teams from the Riverview League, Park National, St. Paul, and Skyline League. The top three teams from each league make the tournament, with the top seeds of each four receiving a first round bye.

The top four teams of the bracket include the 2014 State Champion St. Paul Capitals, the Minneapolis Cobras, No. 1 ranked Minnetonka Millers, and the Continental Diamond-Diamond Cutters. Rounding out the rest of the bracket is the Minneapolis Lakers, Tri-City Shark, Northwest Orioles, St. Paul Shamrocks, Stockmen’s Irish, Minneapolis Angels, Air Freight Unlimited, and St. Louis Park.

St. Paul Capitals

The St. Paul Capitals are the reigning champion and finished the regular season with a 26-11 record, receiving the top seed in the St. Paul League. They are also ranked No. 2 on the latest poll. Tim Ryan is undefeated on the bump with an 11-0 record. Logan Busch has an outstanding .441 batting average with a 1.109 OPS.

Minneapolis Cobras

The No. 3 ranked Minneapolis Cobras finished with an impressive 31-13 record to finish first in the Park National League, going 13-3 in league play.

Minnetonka Millers

The Millers have been the top team in the state all throughout the season, finishing with a dominant 45-3 record, finishing first in the Riverview League. The 2014 runners up and 11-time state champion Millers have 330 runs scored this season.

Continental Diamond Cutters

The Diamond Cutters are the champions of the Skyline League with a 13-3 record, and 17-9 overall. They are ranked No. 7 on the latest Class A poll.

Minneapolis Lakers

The Lakers are tied for No. 3 in the latest Class A rankings. They finished with a 22-6 record and the second best in the Park National League. Pitcher Dan Genrich has a 5-1 record with a 2.37 ERA with three complete games and 60 strikeouts in 64 innings pitched. Rob Veith has a .432 average at the plate with 38 hits in 88 at bats, including five doubles and 14 runs batted in.

Tri-City Shark

Tri-City of the Skyline League finished the regular season with a 16-9 record, 9-7 in league play. Ethan Imdieke is batting .359, going 28 for 78 with six doubles. Mark Dominik has five wins on the season including four complete games, one of them a no-hitter. Dominik also boasts a 2.00 ERA and an impressive 51 strikeouts in 45 innings pitched.

Northwest Orioles

The Orioles of the Riverview League finished with a 12-9 overall record, and a 10-4 league record good for second place behind Minnetonka. They received two votes in the latest Class A poll.

St. Paul Shamrocks

The No. 5 ranked Shamrocks finished the regular season with a 12-8 record, going 8-6 in the St. Paul League.

Stockmen’s Irish

The Irish finished third in the Skyline League with a 10-6 record. They have an overall record of 18-11.

Minneapolis Angels

The Angels are the No. 9 ranked Class A squad, and finished third in the Park National League going 12-4, and 25-16 overall.

Air Freight Unlimited

The second seeded team in the St. Paul League finished with an 8-6 record and received two votes in the latest Class A poll.

St. Louis Park

St. Louis Park Town Team is the No. 6 ranked Class A team, finishing the regular season with a record of 33-15. A record of 11-5 was good for third place in the Riverview League standings. St. Louis Park has a powerful offense with four players with 40+ RBI: Matt Paulsen, Joe Pierce, Mike Lueck, and Adam Seaman. Andy Peterson is the ace on the mound with a 6-1 record in 10 starts, with a 2.18 ERA in 62 innings pitched.


Thursday, August 6 (Single Elimination)

6 p.m. – Tri City defeats Minneapolis Lakers 11-1

8:30 p.m. – Northwest Orioles defeat Shamrocks 2-1

Friday, August 7 (Single Elimination)

6 p.m. – Minneapolis Angels defeats Stockmen’s Irish 2-1

8:30 p.m. – Air Freight defeats St. Louis Park 4-2

Saturday, August 8 (Double Elimination)

10 a.m. – Tri City defeats St. Paul Capitals 8-2

1 p.m. – Minneapolis Cobras defeat Northwest Orioles 1-0

4 p.m. – Minnetonka defeats Minneapolis Angels 11-1

7 p.m. – Air Freight defeats Diamond Cutters 8-0

Sunday, August 9

10 a.m. – St. Paul Capitals defeat Northwest Orioles 10-7 (losers bracket)

1 p.m. – Northwest Orioles defeat Shamrocks 2-1 (losers bracket)

7 p.m. – Minneapolis Cobras defeat Tri City 6-0 (double elim)

Monday, August 10

7 p.m. – Minnetonka defeats Air Freight 3-0 (double elim)

Friday, August 14 (losers bracket)

6 p.m. – St. Paul Capitals defeat Air Freight 11-0

8:30 p.m. – Diamond Cutters defeat Tri City 4-1

Saturday, August 15 

12 p.m. – St. Paul Capitals defeat Diamond Cutters 14-6

3 p.m. – Minnetonka defeats Minneapolis Cobras 8-3 (advance to championship)

6 p.m. – St. Paul Capitals defeat Minneapolis Cobras 8-4 (advance to championship, must defeat opponent twice)

Sunday, August 16 – Championship 

1 p.m. – Minnetonka defeats St. Paul Capitals 5-2

– Also follow @MnABaseball on twitter for updates. 

Tournament Bracket/Scheule, additional information on the Class A website homepage:


Check out additional content below: